Our Mission

Currently, the Mayor and City Council provide policy direction and management of key city services. The City of Paris is governed by the Commission form of government. Under this form, voters elect a mayor and four commissioners at large to serve as the Council. Each commissioner has executive control over the department(s) assigned to him/her. A staff of nearly 100 full-time employees provides these services to residents.

City Officials

  • Michael Martin – Administrator
  • Betsy Higginbotham – City Treasurer
  • Fruin & Kash – Legal Counsel
  • Brooke Newhart – City Clerk

Elected Representatives

  • Craig Smith – Mayor
  • Jerry Branson – Commissioner (Streets, Alley & Parks)
  • Paul Ruff – Commissioner (Public Property)
  • Doug Hasler – Commissioner (Fire, Public Health & Safety)
  • Harry Hughes – Commissioner (Accounts & Finances)

Volunteer Committees

Volunteers from the community serve on a number of committees that make recommendations to the City Council.

Board of Fire and Police Commissioners

Historic Preservation Commission

Park Board

Planning Commission


206 S. Central Avenue
Paris, IL 61944


Phone: 217-465-7601


MON thru FRI: 
8:00am to 5:00pm